Day 11 – Soup Attempt #2 (with coffee creamer)

15112007763.jpg

  • One 400g tin of butter beans 
  • one medium onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 500 ml water mixed with about 20 or so tablespoons coffee creamer
  • 500 ml of beef stock
  • some olive oil

How to cook:

Mix water with coffee creamer until the water is as creamy as possible. 

Heat a little olive oil in a pan. Thinly slice the garlic and onions and add them to pan cooking for about 5 minutes – don’t let them burn or go brown – until soft.

Add all ingredients

Bring soup to boil, then reduce the heat and then simmer for an hour or so.

Turn off heat and season to taste.

Notes: After my first attempt at a soup ended with something very bland and tasteless, I thought I’d try again. Without cream or butter though, I wasn’t sure how I could create a soup with a nice creamy texture. I made myself a coffee to mull over the problem and ah-ha! in my hand was coffee creamer, the milk substitute I’ve been using. So I filled a 500ml jug of water and kept adding coffee creamer till the result was something resembling cream. Then I made my butter bean soup again this time with my ‘cream’ and it tasted great! Who’d have thought it? Not me.

2 Responses

  1. I think I just sicked-up in my mouth.

  2. Rory, its nice trust me 😉

Leave a comment